This news has been received from: newsbrig.com

All trademarks, copyrights, videos, photos and logos are owned by respective news sources. News stories, videos and live streams are from trusted sources.

Two California residents who were found dead near their fire-ravaged home had been packed and ready to evacuate but changed their minds due to erroneous information, according to a report.

Philip Ruble, 68, was found inside a charred Toyota pickup truck at the home, while Millicent Catarancuic, 77 was found in an embankment in the area six days ago, CNN reported, citing Butte County Sheriff Kory Honea.

“After speaking to family members, it is believed the pair was aware of the fire in the area,” Honea said. “They had packed their belongings in preparation to evacuate but later decided not to evacuate based on erroneous information that the fire was 51 percent contained.”

Ruble and Catarancuic lived in Berry Creek, which has been all but destroyed by the Bear Fire, part of the North Complex, whose death toll has risen to at least 15.

Berry Creek was under an evacuation order as of 3:15 p.m. Sept. 8 – and the information was posted on social media and on a fire information line, according to CNN.

Firefighters search through a burned residence during the Bear fire.AFP via Getty Images

Police also drove around with evacuation sirens and went door to door where possible, Butte County spokeswoman Megan McCann told CNN, which reported that it is unknown where the two fire victims saw or heard the containment figure before the fire quickly grew the day they died.

In addition to 15 fatalities, 13 people are unaccounted for in the North Complex Fire, which has been burning for almost a month and is the eighth largest in California history.

Some 273,000 acres have been burned and more than 780 structures have been destroyed in the fire, according to CNN.

News Source: newsbrig.com

‘Residue’ Shows the Human Toll of White Gentrifiers Invading Black Neighborhoods

Next News:

Earthquake : There are still victims of the 2017 earthquake in Mexico

Earthquake :

Posted at 18:56 ET (22:56 GMT) Friday, September 18, 2020

Playing 2:55

Posted at 13:14 ET (17:14 GMT) Friday, September 18, 2020

9:01

Posted at 22:34 ET (02:34 GMT) Thursday, September 17, 2020

4:00

Posted at 20:00 ET (00:00 GMT) Thursday, September 17, 2020

1:08

Posted at 19:59 ET (23:59 GMT) Thursday, September 17, 2020

1:48

Posted at 23:43 ET (03:43 GMT) Wednesday, September 16, 2020

1:25

Posted at 23:43 ET (03:43 GMT) Wednesday, September 16, 2020

1:03

Posted at 23:42 ET (03:42 GMT) Wednesday, September 16, 2020

1:37

Posted at 20:01 ET (00:01 GMT) Wednesday, September 16, 2020

1:17

Posted at 19:32 ET (23:32 GMT) Wednesday, September 16, 2020

2:45

Other News

  • Bills Aim to Revoke Universitys Lawsuit Immunity for Sexual Abuse, Alter Statute of Limitations
  • Voter Reminder Notice Causes Confusion, But Ballots Will Come In The Mail, Officials Say
  • Woman Suspected of Selling Drugs That Resulted in ODs
  • Woman Set Up NBA Star Ex-Husbands Murder, Received 30 Years in Prison
  • Pro-Biden super PAC notches election lawsuit wins in Michigan, Pennsylvania
  • Michigan judge says ballots received within 14 days of election should count if postmarked on time
  • Michigan Judge Cynthia Stephens Rules Late Absentee Ballots Can Be Counted If Received Within 2 Weeks After Election
  • Fed Survey Shows U.S. Families’ Finances Bolstered by Assistance
  • Monfils subjected to racist abuse online after early exit in Rome
  • Texas deputies reportedly received gift cards for use of force
  • 22 people busted at anti-ICE demonstration in NYC
  • Tennis : Monfils victim of racist insults
  • NYPD busts 22 people at Lower Manhattan anti-ICE demonstration
  • Panhandling Less Of A Problem In Fort Worth During Pandemic
  • Firefighter Dies In California Wildfire Sparked By Gender Reveal Party
  • Tesla driver falls asleep while going 93 mph on autopilot
  • North Complex blaze trapped residents unable to escape ‘tsunami of fire’
  • Why are California unemployment checks months late? State audit aims to find out
  • As firefighters hope to gain ground on some West Coast fires, others prompt more evacuations